Resources

Glen Eira Historical Society:
Our collection of over 5000 items includes documents, photographs, maps, family histories, newspapers, books and ephemera.  Some of our collection has been digitised on Victorian Collections, a website containing over a 100,000 records from various groups around the State.

Ancestry: https://www.ancestry.com.au/
Discover your family history and start your family tree. Available at local libraries.

Australian Dictionary of Biography: http://adb.anu.edu.au/
Concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of significant and representative persons in Australian history.

Heritage Victoria: https://vhd.heritagecouncil.vic.gov.au/
Victorian Heritage Database

Miles Lewis: https://www.mileslewis.net/research-database/
Database of Melbourne mansions, architectural index etc.

Landata: https://www.landata.vic.gov.au/
Property information including title, survey, valuation and property sales, property certificates and planning certificates.

Museums Victoria: https://museumsvictoria.com.au/collections-research/
A wealth of collections and research about natural sciences, history, technology and Indigenous cultures

National Archives of Australia:https://www.naa.gov.au/
Holds the memory of our nation and keeps vital Australian Government records safe.

National Trust:
https://www.nationaltrust.org.au/advocacy-toolkit/
The National Trust Advocacy Toolkit is a free online resource

Prahran Mechanics Institute Library: https://www.pmi.net.au/
Specialises in the history of Victoria, with over 7000 books for loan.

Public Records Office Victoria: https://prov.vic.gov.au/
Has a vast array of records created by Victorian Government departments/authorities including the State’s courts, local councils, schools, public and hospitals. Includes wills and probate, ship passenger lists which are available online and rate books available on microfiche.

Royal Historical Society of Victoria: https://www.historyvictoria.org.au/
One of Australia’s most significant historical collections focusing on the Victorian experience in Australian history

Sands and McDougall (Sands and Kenny) Directories:
https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/sands-mcdougall-directories
Sands & McDougall Directories were published yearly from 1857 to 1974.  These directories contain alphabetical listings of surnames, house by house, street by street listings within each suburb and a trades and professions alphabetical listing.   Also lists of government departments, societies, churches and municipalities.  Now available online

State Library of Victoria: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/
Search the catalogue for photos, maps and of course books. Many online resources.

The Ryerson Index: https://www.ryersonindex.org/
A free index to death notices appearing in Australian newspapers from the Sydney Gazette of 1803 up to recent newspapers

TROVE: http://www.trove.nla.gov.au
Books, images, digitised newspapers, maps, music, archived websites and more provided by the National Library of Australia.

Victorian Collections: https://victoriancollections.net.au/organisations/glen-eira-historical-society#collection-records

Local Resources

Australian Jewish Historical Society (Victoria): http://www.ajhs.info/Victoria/

Box Cottage Museum/City of Moorabbin Historical Society: http://home.vicnet.net.au/~cmhsbcm/index.html
Joyce Park, Jasper Road, Ormond 3204

Brighton Cemetorians: https://www.brightoncemetorians.org.au/

Glen Eira City Council, History & Heritage information: www.gleneira.vic.gov.au/historycollection and https://www.gleneira.vic.gov.au/our-city/history-and-heritage

Jewish Holacaust Centre: https://www.jhc.org.au/

Kingston Local History: https://localhistory.kingston.vic.gov.au/